BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rvwdv
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS and trying to change the formatting of a variable that I'm importing from Excel. The variable format in Excel is HH:MM but when it imports to SAS it's displayd as a number such as 0.4889556658666

It's supposed to be a duration of a shift. 

How can I change the format when importing the table to an actual duration that I can use in creating managment reports? 

I'd like to create a report per customer that indicates the total number of hours our employees spent at one of their locations.

Please help. 

8 REPLIES 8
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

How are you importing it?  Can you provide an example of what the data actually looks like for 0.4889556658666.  Excel, like SAS stores times/dates as offsets from a base value.  So days since 1950 maybe for dates (can't remember the exact year).  The 0.488... is what the actual data is, unformatted.  So you would need to know the conversion is.  Proc import is very basic really.  If you want to get data in a repeatable, defined way, move to a delimited file format (CSV or something) and write a datastep import, that way you can control it all.  Alternatively, in your Excel file, set the format of those variables to text, then SAS will read them in as text and you can conver then.  

rvwdv
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, thanks for the reply. I've uploaded an example of the excel file. If I straight import it itno SAS studio I get the 0.488... numbers indeed, but in Excel it's an adjusted field. It's related to the "Werkniveau" fields.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Afraid I am not download Office files.  If you could perhaps screenshot just a few records of the particular data.

art297
Opal | Level 21