BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Peter_Thiem
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I'm a newbie here, please be kind with my first post.

I need help to identify which customer has 1 or more product switch and I have attached a sample data as well as 2 output tables I need to produce. Some of the data from the spreadsheet attachment is copied below.

Input Data
IDPROD_CODEProd_First_use_mthProd_Last_use_mth
2ABC061-Mar-091-May-11
2ABC081-Jun-111-Apr-17
32ABC071-Jan-091-Jan-12
32ABC081-Mar-121-Apr-17
48BMX021-Apr-091-May-09
48ABC061-Jan-091-Apr-17
90ABC061-Jan-091-Jul-12
90ABC071-Aug-121-Apr-17
90DCA021-Mar-091-Mar-13
90QAM011-Jan-091-Aug-16
90QAM021-Dec-091-Apr-17

What I'm after for the first output is finding customers who switch from using one product to another within plus or minus 4 months like in the case of customer 48. The input data contain the customer ID and the product first and last use month-year

Output Data 1
IDFIRST PROD SWITCH FROMFIRST PROD SWITCH FROM DATEFIRST PROD SWITCH TOFIRST PROD SWITCH TO DATE
2ABC061-May-11ABC081-Jun-11
32ABC071-Jan-12ABC081-Mar-12
48BMX021-May-09ABC061-Jan-09
90QAM011-Jan-09ABC061-Feb-09
90ABC061-Jul-12ABC071-Aug-12

The second output is pivoting the data to identify all customers who have >= 2 products spend within the last 6 months (DEC16-MAY17). Some customers do have more than 4 products but I just put down 4 here for illustration. 

Output Data 2
IDCURR PROD #1CURR PROD 1ST SPEND #1CURR PROD LAST SPEND #1CURR PROD  #2CURR PROD 1ST SPEND #2CURR PROD LAST SPEND #2CURR PROD #3CURR PROD 1ST SPEND #3CURR PROD LAST SPEND #3CURR PROD  #4CURR PROD 1ST SPEND #4CURR PROD LAST SPEND #4
90QAM021-Dec-091-Apr-17ABC071-Aug-121-Apr-17      

Hope I have been clear in my description, let me know if I may have missed anything.

Thank you,

Peter

9 REPLIES 9
art297
Opal | Level 21

Does your window have to be 4 months or would something like 120 days suffice? Both are doable, but the latter would be easier to code.