BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
khollid
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I have been working with a programmer for several months trying to find an acceptable solution to a programming issue with no luck.  Basically, I have a SAS dataset that has a binary variable (0,1) with one record for each minute of the day.  I would like to find periods of at least 10 minutes of the day where there is a specific density of 1's, namely periods of at least 80% 1's and 20% or less 0's.  I would like to create a new variable that flags each minute that is part of one of these dense periods of 1's.  Also, I would like 5 consecutive zero's to indicate an automatic end of a period dense in 1's.  I think this is likely a difficult programming issue and that it may not have a solution that is 100% accurate, but I am wondering if anyone has tried something like this in SAS before and has advice or can point me to any reading that might be helpful.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gergely_batho
SAS Employee

Reading the file sequentially. If there is a 0->1 switch, it is a potential starting point for a run. So we store it in a hash object.

For each record (0 or 1):

we update the data for each stored potential run: number of 1s

if actual record is 1 we need to check conditions of a valid run (length>=10, 80% purity)

if check is OK, we also store the end position of the (valid) run. If there is already an end position for this valid run, we can safely overwrite it (only longest run needed)

When there are 5 consecutive 0s (or end of file), we can output the good runs (start pos, end pos)

Postprocessing: merging overlapping runs.

Following code is not tested (lot of syntax and logical errors), will test, when I have SAS.

Tested.

data have;

input bit @@;

datalines;

0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 1 1

0 0 0 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1