BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
akhilesh_joshi
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am new to SAS programming. I am finding way to solve the following problem. 

The existing program prints 2 to 15 levels output by default. If I would like to print only the levels between a particular value (say 😎 and 15, how do I achieve it using do or do-while loop.

Current sample output:

x_2 = x_1+(((1)/15)*y;
x_3 =x_1+(((2)/15)*y);

x_15 = x_1+(((14)/15)*y);

4 REPLIES 4
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

try next code, assuming you have X_1 and Y variables in a dataset::

%LET start = 8;

%LET stop = 15;

data want;

set have;  /* input of X_1 and Y variables */

length x_&start - x_&stop 8;

array x_n x_&start - x_&stop ;

do i=&start to &stop;

j = i - &start +1;

x_n(j) = x_1 + (i/15)*Y;   /* no need of all other brackets */

end;

run;

proc print data=want; 

var  x_1 y x_&start - x_&stop;

run;

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Please examine the instructions for posting questions.  Post example test data, in the form of a datastep.  And what you want the output to look like.  Also describe any formula to achieve the output.  I am afraid the given text does not describe the problem in any detail neede to give you an answer.

ballardw
Super User

It kind of helps to have some example input values and the actual desired output. And since you already have a program the entire program or at least the data step the example code came from. Since you do not show a PUT statement then you should clarify what you mean by "print" as there does not appear to be any "print" type output.

How are you telling the program that you want 8 to 15? Hard code in the program, based on the value of other variables in the dataset or something you provide interactively?

Also on this forum please do not post duplicate posts. If the post belongs in another topic area then you may get a suggestion to post the (possibly improved) question in an appropriate area or sometimes the post will be merged.