BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Darshik
Calcite | Level 5

I have a frequently updated database of email id's of unsubscribed users and I need to move them from a Master database to the Unsubscribed email database on the 1st day of every month. 

I started SAS programming only about 2 weeks ago so I have a couple of question on how do I go about this. Please bear in mind that I am still studying to be a bit fluent with the array and macro functions and concepts. 

1. Can I create a Macro that frequently checks and moves the emails on the 1st day of every month, from insurance_master sheet to unsubscribed sheet??

2. Or should I create an Array.
3. Or use an Array within the Macro?

I have 2 datasets:

1 - darshik.insurance_master {variables email & type } type is char variable with the indutsry type info.

2 - darshik.unsubscribed {variables email & unsb } Unsb is numeric variable with values 0 & 1

I am unable to put up any code as an example as I am thoroughly confused at this point on where and how to begin. So far I have only removed the duplicates from both the files.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

If you only have to remove emails (from the insurance_master) that are also on the unsubscribe dataset with an unsb value of 1, then you could simply run the following at on the first of every month:

proc sort data=insurance_master;
  by email;
run;

proc sort data=unsubscribed;
  by email;
run;

data updated_insurance_master (drop=unsb);
  merge insurance_master unsubscribed;
  by email;
  if not unsb eq 1;
run;

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Welcome to the forum and to the wonderful world of SAS Programming 🙂