BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jjames1
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am still trying to deal with the issue of fixing the invalid dates when trying to read some XML files from SAS. I use the following code to read my xml files

filename ABC temp;
libname ABC xmlv2 '/folders/myfolders/temp.xml' automap=replace xmlmap=ABC ;

proc copy in=ABC out=work noclone;
run;

I thank all of the solutions suggested by everyone, but I could not make any of them to work.

Still SAS  is giving me the following error:

ERROR: Data contains invalid content for date datatype. Invalid content is 07/00/20.

I have around 20 variables in one single file and  I read from multiple files.

I have some solutions that I am thinking of

1. Force read the invalid values from SAS when doing the xml mapping

2. Remove the /00 from these attributes when reading as in my case I am bothered of only the month and year

3. Modify the XML parser inorder to read these dates as it is 

As I am not an expert in SAS, I would really appreciate for any ideas on how to approach these suggested solution or anything else  inorder to fix this issue

Thanks in Advance!

5 REPLIES 5
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

What does 07/00/20

Actually mean? 20Jul2000?  Not sure there is a format off the shelf to handle such an occurence - never seen a date represented like this.  You may need a picture format setup for it, or read it in as text, then process it:

date=mdy(input(scan(c_date,1,"/"),best.),input(scan(c_date,3,"/"),best.),input(scan(c_date,2,"/"),best.));
jjames1
Fluorite | Level 6

This is of the format MM/DD/YYYY which is obviously invalid as there is no day with value 00 

So this shows me the error invalid date, which I am trying fix now

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

@jjames1 wrote:

This is of the format MM/DD/YYYY which is obviously invalid as there is no day with value 00 

So this shows me the error invalid date, which I am trying fix now