BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AudeP
Fluorite | Level 6

Dears, 

I'm currently studying for the Base programming Sas certification and as I try to always go a little further on each issue, i got stuck at "Chapter 19 - Creating a Single Observation from Multiple Records". Indeed, it is explained that in order to use Line Pointer controls to read raw datasets, "the raw data file must contain the same number of records for each observation" (which make perfect sense). But no explanation is given on how to deal with missing records. Only this sentence : "For more information about working with raw data files that contain missing records, see the SAS documentation."

So I searched through the SAS documentation/the web, but couldn't find any solution. This is why I'm posting here my question : How can I manage raw datasets when observations are divided on multiple records and there are missing records? Should I use other controls than line pointers? Or maybe this is not possible through the use of pointer controls and I need to apply more "complex" methods to this kind of raw dataset?

Here is the example raw dataset used in the book. 

LEE ATHNOS  
1215 RAINTREE CIRCLE 
PHOENIX  AZ 85044  
HEIDIE BAKER  
1751 DIEHL ROAD  
MYRON BARKER 
131 DONERAIL DRIVE 
ATLANTA  GA 30363

First observation is divided on 3 records, same for the third, but the second has a missing record. How can i deal with it?

Thank you for any enlightenment you could give me on this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

The programming is tedious, and beyond what I have patience for.  But the theory isn't too bad.  For example:

• Read a line of data and save it in a fourth variable that you won't keep.
  • Inspect the line of data, and see where the first digit appears.  (FINDC function?)