BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Gjax21
Calcite | Level 5

I am trying to create a new variable by dividing the values of single variable "SNinner_SNouter" where another variable has a values of '8' by that same variable "SNinner_SNouter" where that same other variable has a value of 19. 

I feel like i need some statement like    new var = "SNinner_SNouter" where value is 8    /    "SNinner_SNouter" where value is 19

I have attached the dataset. I appologise that my explanation is probably terrible. I'm not experienced at programming. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You can use the LAG function, or you can simply re-arrange the data as follows. Both assume the data is properly sorted.

data want;
    merge ratios(where=(global_timepoint=8) rename=(SNinner_SNouter=SN8))
        ratios(where=(global_timepoint=19) rename=(SNinner_SNouter=SN19));
    by date_of_experiment;
    ratio = SN19 / SN8;
run;

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@Gjax21 wrote:

I am trying to create a new variable by dividing the values of single variable "SNinner_SNouter" where another variable has a values of '8' by that same variable "SNinner_SNouter" where that same other variable has a value of 19. 

I feel like i need some statement like    new var = "SNinner_SNouter" where value is 8    /    "SNinner_SNouter" where value is 19

I have attached the dataset. I appologise that my explanation is probably terrible. I'm not experienced at programming.  

You need to explain more clearly what you want. 

Do the values you need to work with already appear on the same observation (or ROW if you are looking at your spreadsheet)?