10 11

20 21

30 31

and must read it like this :

x1 x2

10 11

20 21

30 31

I am a complete beginner and couldn't find how to do it through the tutorials etc. 

Thank you.

12 REPLIES 12
Reeza
Super User
Did you try using the point and click interface? Which tool are you using?

Here's a link to examples on importing text files:
http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/sas/faq/read_delim.htm

Additionally, the SAS Programming 1 course is freely available.
MakKK
Calcite | Level 5

Here is my program : 

Filename Fichier "/folders/myshortcuts/desktop/donnees-brutes.txt";

Data don; 

Infile Fichier Firstobs = 2; 

Input 1 x1 2 x2;

run;

But it tells me that there is a problem with my syntax because indeed the variables are messed up...

Do you have a solution so I can tell SAS to drop the "1" and "2"? 

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
I don't quite understand what you mean that the program has to work as a "general solution". If the first "row" of your file contains the variable names to use and the data starts on row 2, then you will need to make 2 "reads" of the file. The first program will only read row 1 to determine how many variables/columns are on the rest of the rows and then the second program will use the information from the first row in an INPUT statement.

This will probably involve using a macro program, but the best suggestion I have is to write the whole set of programs first to make sure you really understand how to write the program before introducing anything to do with macro processing.

Also suggestion you read the rules for naming SAS variables. SAS variable names cannot start with a number, so the INPUT statement you show will error out because you cannot have a variable named "1" or "2".

cynthia
MakKK
Calcite | Level 5

Yes it seems I have to use something called %INPUT,  which will read my data for a second time, but I do not understand how it works. 

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Is the first line the variable names?