BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
nikunjgattani
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I want to copy a file from FTP server (Unix) to local machine (Windows) using SAS code.

There are many files loaded in FTP server daily. So, I want just to copy the latest file from FTP to local machine.

Currently, I have to manually copy from Unix server to Windows using FTP (Tectia).

Thanks

Nikunj

12 REPLIES 12
Reeza
Super User

If you can create a script on Windows or Unix side to do the job, its relatively easy to execute the script from SAS. 

That's probably the ideal solution. You can also pass unix commands directly to the server or windows so if you can utilize x command you can pass the unix command to download the data as well.

In SAS 9.4+ there's FCOPY which will move files.

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lefunctionsref/67960/HTML/default/viewer.htm#n10dz22b5ix...

nikunjgattani
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Reeza,

Thank You.

If possible, could you provide me unix code as i am not good with Unix.

So that I can make changes accordingly on that code and try it.

Regards,

Nikunj

Reeza
Super User

Sorry, I'm not great with Unix. It's also dependent on your application. 

I'm sure if you searched on StackOverflow you'd find examples of what the commands should look like. 

Would FCOPY work for you? Does your Base SAS see your server and your desktop at the same time? Or do you not have SAS 9.4?

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Windows ftp can be scripted with the -s:scriptfile commandline option.

Since you will only use the Windows client, no UNIX knowledge apart from file/pathnames is required.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
And there's also the filename ftp engine.
Data never sleeps
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,