DATA Step, Macro, Functions and more

How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 72

How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

Can somebody let me know how do we convert the UTC date time to other timezone values.

Is there any SAS functiion for this ?
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 3,174

Re: How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

Use the INTNX function to adjust a DATETIME type SAS variable after inputting it. Also, you may find prior posts on these forums, as well as SAS-hosted DOC and supplemental technical / conference reference material (suggesting website SEARCH or using Google advanced search below).

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.

Suggested Google advanced search argument, this topic / post:

utc datetime values intnx function site:sas.com
Regular Contributor
Posts: 241

Re: How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

If you have a datetime value in UTC, just subtract 5 hours to get EST:



   data _null_;

     utc = '15mar2011 21:15:21'dt;

     est = utc - 5*60*60;

     format utc est datetime.;

     put (_all_) (/=);

   run;

   /* on log

   utc=15MAR11:21:15:21

   est=15MAR11:16:15:21

   */
Contributor
Posts: 72

Re: How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

I have done similar program. But I am asking is there a function which does it autromatically... by taking locale as a input parameter.
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 3,174

Re: How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

Locale, as in some GMT offset somewhere out in the operating system enviroment?

Not likely - check the DOC and consider using INTNX with your adjustment as argument #3.

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 241

Re: How to convert UTC date time value to different timezone like PST, CST EST

> ...is there
> a function which does it autromatically... by taking
> locale as a input parameter.

No, there isn't one among the built in.
Ask a Question
Discussion stats
  • 5 replies
  • 2855 views
  • 0 likes
  • 3 in conversation