BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ChrisW75
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I have a master program which sets up a bunch of parameters and libraries, then uses a number of %include steps to run a series of other SAS programs. Each of these SAS programs is a separate test and after running appends output to a table, but they are all essentially independent of each other.

the problem is, if one of those programs has an error, SAS goes into debug mode (sets OBS to 0 just does SYNTAXCHECK from then on) and so will not run any of the subsequent programs.

What I want to know is, is there a way to reset the error condition after each %include, so that if one program fails, the next one can still run.

I saw that there's an "options NOSYNTAXCHECK;" method, but that would cause the failed program to continue running as well, which isn't what I want.

Failing this, I'd need to move each individual program into the batch script instead, and do a bunch of additional logic etc in each SAS program, which I'd rather not do if I can avoid it.

options compress='Y';

%include "setup.sas";

* Logic to check day of week *;

%include "daily_test1.sas";
* If daily_test1.sas fails, daily_test2.sas will run with obs=0 *;
* I want it to run properly, can I reset the error status here? *;
%include "daily_test2.sas";

Cheers

Chris.

4 REPLIES 4
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

%include allows you to store SAS code in multiple files but using %include runs everything as one big program in one big session. It's logically the same like having all the code together in a single file. If something falls over then the SAS Workspace can get seriously messed up so switching into syntax check mode is the right thing to do and you shouldn't attempt to change this.

Have a look into %sysexec() as this will allow you to have a master program and run your other stuff as child processes - either synchronous or asynchronous. I believe that's what you're really after.