BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
npa
Calcite | Level 5 npa
Calcite | Level 5

I am computing a total using proc means and want to use this total, which is called xtot and is the sum of x, in my subsequent data step.

I would like to do this without having to merge work.tot with test.second. Is this possible? As seen in the code below, I had the idea of achieving this using a global macro variable. The problem, of course, is that xtotl will resolve to 'xtot' not the value 5. I cannot apply the %eval function here either. I may have to resort to merging but want to know if it is possible to implement my idea of using global macro variables. I have some knowledge regarding SAS macros but am by no means an expert. All suggestions welcome.

proc means data=test.first noprint;

var x;  /* where x=5, for example */

output out=work.tot (drop=_type_ _freq_)

sum (x)=xtot;

%global xtotl;

%let xtotl=xtot;

run;

data nextstep;

set test.second;

totl=xtotl;

run;

6 REPLIES 6
art297
Opal | Level 21

Since you apparently only have one value for xtotl, you have a couple of options.

The simplest, I think, is to skip proc means altogether and get your xtotl from proc sql, directly, as a macro variable.  You could do that with (or something very close to):

proc sql noprint;

select sum(x) into :xtotl

from test.first

;

quit;

Then, the way you would refer to it in your datastep would be:

data nextstep;

set test.second;

totl=&xtotl.;

run;

Of course, there are also numerous other ways of accomplishing the same thing, like merging the output file from proc means together with test.second, or using a data _null_ step and call symput to create the macro variable.

data_null__
Jade | Level 19

Don't use a macro variable for this, it is bad technique.  Use SET.  With SET there is no data loss and it is easy to include other statistics.

proc means data=sashelp.class noprint;

output out=work.tot (drop=_type_ _freq_) sum(age)=xtot;

run;

data class;

set sashelp.class;