BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MilesWhite
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone.

I'm kind of new to SAS programming, I'm using EG 5.1 but have access to 7.1 and I'm having a little problem with a requirement.

I'm importing a number of plain text files (txt, csv, etc.) into sas datasets, but I'm trying to validate those files before:

- First, I'm checking the existence of those files. DONE

- Second, I'm counting the number of lines in order to assure the observations number is the expected. DONE

- Third, I want to verifiy that the columns the dataset will have makes sense with the predefined layout of each table. In process

So far I think the best, and fastest way to do the third point, is importing the first line of each file and count either width (for fixed-width files) or number of delimiters, depending on each file.

The thing is I'm not sure on how to do this, or if there's a better way of validating what i want. Think you can help me here?

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MilesWhite
Fluorite | Level 6

So far, I've done this:

FILENAME _file_ "&input.&file" ;
data _null_;
   length text $32767;
   retain text '';
   infile _file_ dlmstr='//' end=last flowover lrecl=32767; 
   input;
   text=cats(text,_infile_);
   if _n_=1 then call symput('_file_',text);
   if _n_=1 then call symput('length',length(text));
run;

With a few more tweaking and adding an excel with the expected layout, I think I can solve my problem.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User

Are you planning on using proc import to bring those files into SAS or a datastep?

If you use the layout information provided to write data steps to read the data that data step could have additional items to provide diagnostics.