BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
KrisDeng
Obsidian | Level 7

I am a novice SAS user and I am working with this data set and there is a variable called "Status" that keeps track of the current status of the companies right now, either "A" (active) or "I" (inactive). The data is collected from different periods so sometimes the status was "active" for a period but later on it went "inactive". The last Status is always the correct one, so I'd like to know how to change all the Status observations of a company to its last value.

I have been squeezing my brain and looking up all over the web and SAS communities. I've tried retain last. first. functions, conditional, loops,... so far, but I can't find the answer.

Enclosed is the preview of my results so far. As you can see in the last day of 2013 the company was still active, but at some point from then until now it went inactive and the final status changed right there (red circle). Again, where does the status change in the dataset is not important, if it is "Inactive" anywhere all status should be "inactive", otherwise all status should be "active".

Any ideas or directions will be much appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.

sascom.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Assuming your data set is in sorted order BY COMPANY DATE, you can do this in one step:

data want;

do until (last.company);

set have;

by company;

end;

last_status = status;

do until (last.company);

set have;

by company;

output;

end;

run;

The top loop reads all the observations for a company, providing the final value for STATUS.  Then the bottom loop reads the same observations and outputs them.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

That's not clear. Do you want the latest status or that if it's inactive anytime it's inactive always?