BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
myname
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone,

I am currently facing the problem of subsetting a dataset by words listed in a wordlist.

The dataset I have is quite large and includes the variables word and collection. I want to subset this dataset based on the observations in the variable word. For this I have several wordlists that include up to 60 words. As I do not want to write them all in a data step (especially as the word lists may change later on) I wrote myself a macro:

OPTIONS MPRINT;
%macro subset(cat);
proc sql ;
select distinct word 
into :word_list_&cat separated by " "
from work.&cat;
quit;

data work.subset_&cat;
set work.insurance;
%do i=1 %to 50;
%if word="qscan(&word_list_&cat,&i)" %then output;
%end;
run;
%mend subset;

%subset(fire)

I am quite new to working with macros, so this does not work, obviously. The error I get is

"WARNING: The quoted string currently being processed has become more than 262 bytes long. You might have unbalanced quotation

marks."

which I understand, SAS obviously reads the whole word list into the quotes, but I only want the first, second, third, and so on at one time.

I would be very grateful if someone could help me out with this problem.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

This would be simpler:

OPTIONS MPRINT;
%macro subset(cat);

proc sql;
create table work.subset_&cat as
select * 
from  work.insurance
where word in (select word from work.&cat);
quit;

%mend subset;

%subset(fire)

(untested)

PG

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Please post test data (as a datastep), it is very hard to visualise data we can't see.  At a guess:

data _null_;
  set catds;
  call execute(cats('data want_',word,'; set work.insuarance (where=(word="',word,'")); run;'));
run;