BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
J_L
Calcite | Level 5 J_L
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everybody,

I am new to use .xpt files so I am a little confused how to get them to SAS-files.

I have tried with proc cimport like:

libname oai 'C:\Users\Documents';

libname xptfile xport 'C:\Users\Documents\Enrollees.xpt';

proc cimport infile=xptfile library=oai;

run;

Log tells me that the data sep was updated with variables and observations, but when I want to open the file it tells me that it cant be opened..I also tried the following data-step:

libname xportin xport 'C:\Users\Documents\Enrollees.xpt';

libname target 'C:\Users\Documents';

data target.Enrollees ;

set xportin.Enrollees;

run;

but then I get the following error

The file XPORTIN.ENROLLEES.DATA has too long a member name for the XPORTIN library.

11 run;

Can anybody help me and has an idea what to do?

Kind regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Probably, its a real nuisance I know.  If you had access to a 32bit install of SAS you could export the formats to dataset and then copy that to your 64bit install.  You might be able to do this with the SAS Universal Viewer:

http://support.sas.com/software/products/univiewer/#s1=1

I.e. open it in 32bit version of that, then save to flat file.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

I always use the code:

libname a "c:\somewher";
libname xptfile xport "c:\anxpt.xpt" access=readonly;
proc copy inlib=xptfile outlib=a;
run;
J_L
Calcite | Level 5 J_L
Calcite | Level 5
Thanks for your advice, if I type this statement, SAS tells me that the file might have been created by a cport statement and I should use proc cimport to convert it in na native SAS format

ballardw
Super User

Please post the entire log results including the code.

J_L