BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
U12345
Calcite | Level 5

Im New to SAS Base and have been given a project and this is the question

On average how many days does it take ADW to deliver products between the order date and shipment date? Show results on a monthly basis, this will help the business understand its low performing delivery months and identify the drivers.

• The business would also like to know the order to shipment performance by regions, state and country.
  • Which product category and sub product categories is late shipment predominant to?

Please note: SLA for shipments is next day between the order date and ship date.

I have Identified the data that I need to use but I cant figure out the first step of calculating the days it takes to ship because the datdiff function doesnt work on the imported data.

The Dates Looks Like this on both order and ship dates.

08AUG2005:00:00:00

I tried to figure this out with just ship date and was using this code but I kept getting number insted of dates when it converted:

Data Date (Keep = EmployeeKey SalesTerritoryKey ShipDate DATEPART_SHIPDATE PUT_SHIPDATE INPUT_SHIPDATE );
Set project.dbo_factresellersales ;
Informat ShipDate ANYDTDTEw.;
DATEPART_SHIPDATE = datepart(ShipDate);
PUT_SHIPDATE = PUT(DATEPART_SHIPDATE, date9.);

Run;

I cant figure out how to convert the dates from datetime to date so I can use datdiff. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User
Data Date 
(Keep = EmployeeKey SalesTerritoryKey ShipDate DATEPART_SHIPDATE PUT_SHIPDATE );

Format DATEPART_SHIPDATE DATEPART_OrderDATE  mmddyy10. shipDate OrderDate  datetime21.;

DATEPART_OrderDATE = datepart(orderDate);
datediff=datepart_orderdate-datepart_shipdate;

Run;

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
ballardw
Super User