BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cghost
Obsidian | Level 7

I work in an archive, and we spend a lot of time reviewing one-way frequencies for each variable in our datasets to check for consistency as well as potential confidentiality issues. I would like to streamline this a little bit by creating a table with the one-way frequencies for all variables, including columns for the variable name, the variable label, the raw value, the formatted/labeled value, and the frequency count for the value in question.

I am fairly new to SAS, but it seems to me that getting these tables the way that I want will require using PROC SQL, as the ODS output options for PROC FREQ create unique coluns for each value label. I can't think of a way in SQL to aggregate counts for the values of all variables at the same time, so I'm assuming that I'll need to use macros to pull a list of all the variables and then loop them into proc sql statements that will feed into the table.

So far, this is what I have for the frequencies table:

*Pulling all variable names from the dataset _DATASET_ into a list;
PROC SQL;
select name into :varlist separated by ' '
from dictionary.coulmns
where memname = '_DATASET_';
quit;

*Creating a table to store the query results (and dropping it if it already exists in memory);
proc sql;
drop table work.freqtab
create table work.freqtab
     (Name_Col char(75),
      Val_Name NUM(5),
      Count NUM(5));
quit;

*Attempting to query each variable for its values, aggregate counts, and a dummy column that just displays the variable's name;
*I still don't know how to return both the value code as well as the formatted value label, nor do I know how to retrieve the variable label;
*The results viewer shows labels/formats, but the actual results in the table viewer show the numeric value;
%macro sqlloop(data,vars); 
proc sql;