BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
leogaller
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi guys!

I am very new in SAS Base programming, I would like of ideas about the following situation:

I am importing an excel spreadsheet, and on cell 1 I have the ID and on cell 2 multiple values separated by ','.

What I need is to repeat the value for cell 1 for all the values of cell 2 in different lines.

See the example below:

What I have

Exemplo.PNG

What I need

Exemplo2.PNG

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

LeoGaller

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Here is an example with a small dataset.

The example will have an issue if the col2 variable is blank, which is why I asked what you want to do in that case.

This assumes comma is the only delimiter between the values that will be encountered, it drops the original value for column 2 and assumes that the longest of the values within column 2 is 10 characters.

data have;
   informat id best4. col2 $40.;
   input id col2;
datalines;
111   0
112   0
123   5401,5402
124   5401,5402,5403,5404,5406
;
run;

data want;
   set have;
   length newcol2 $ 10.;
   do i= 1 to (countw(col2));
      newcol2 = scan(col2,i);
      output;
   end;
   drop i col2;
run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

Have already brought the data into SAS? That may sound silly but we have such things sometimes.

Some additional things to consider:

Do you need the original variable with multiple values when done?

Are there any other variables to consider?

What to do if the column 2 variable is blank? Should there be any output (remove the record) or have the line basically output as is?