BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
WinterCode
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm pretty new to SAS, running 9.4.  Appreciate any assistance, thanks in advance for reading my post.

I have successfully imported some data into SAS from an excel file which has three variables that I'm specifically trying to work with: Session_Date, Test_Date and Date_Pass.  This data is data on when a person who was tutored took a standardized test.  So Session_Date records the date they had a tutoring session, Test_Date records the date they initially took the test and Date_Pass records another date (could be same date) for the date on which they actually got a score which passed. 

I want to know what the average time til someone passes the test from when they tutored.  The data itself admittedly does not have dates for every single observation, as not every student who has tutored has tested, and not every student who has tested has passed.  My results generate only missing values; I would have thought that I'd get missing values where the operation can't be performed and then data when the variables are present as expected.

I was looking at a couple other threads that describe this but I think I must be doing something wrong.

This is my initial code that attempts to find the time between when someone tutored and when they tested.

DATA bstdates16172;
SET bstdate1617 ;
D_COMPLETION = INTCK ('dtday', Session_Date, Test_Date ) ;
put D_COMPLETION =;

RUN;

There are several points in the error log:

NOTE: Invalid argument to function INPUT at line 50 column 15.
NOTE: Invalid argument to function INPUT at line 51 column 15.
First_Name=Tatiana Last_Name=Alcindor WCU_ID=820968 Major=Lang/Culture: Spain
Double_Major=Teacher Ed Spanish Session_Date=31OCT2016 Test_Date=43040 Date_Pass=43040
Primary_Concerns=Reviewing Geometric Concepts
Areas_Improvement=Tatiana was able to use her intuition and skills to solve geometry problems