BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
wheddingsjr
Pyrite | Level 9

Good afternoon all

I am using SAS Enterprise 5.1 and I have been running queries out of it for a few months now and downloading the resulting data into an excel sheet using the following:

PROC EXPORT DBMS = EXCELCS
    Data = Results
    FILE = 'C:\Results\SAS Results.xlsb'
    replace;
    PORT = 9621;
    SERVER = &_mymachine;
    RUN;

Unfortunately my last result set exceeds 3 mil lines and I cannot get it to export to excel even though I use the "Export As A Step In Project" and I am using excel 2016. With such a large dataset, can it be directly exported into Access?

Thanks in adavance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

First of all, I would never use the same table as input and output of a SQL step.

Second, I'd run the inner select for the where condition in a separate step to see if it yields a correct result in terms of the included MEMNO's.

As it is, the SQL you provided lacks brackets to correctly identify the extent/scope of the sub-select; this may cause your problems, as the conditions may be treated incorrectly by the SQL interpreter.

Try something like

proc sql;
create table lookup as
  select memno, begdate
  from results
  having count(*) > 1
  group by memno, begdate
;
create table endresult as
  select a.*
  from results as a, lookup as b
  where a.memno = b.memno and a.begdate = b.begdate
  order by a.memno, a.begdate
;
quit;

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
collinelliot
Barite | Level 11

You could create a CSV or other delimited file, but then there's the question of what will open it.

wheddingsjr
Pyrite | Level 9
Thanks Collinelliot, I will give that a try
Kurt_Bremser
Super User