BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Nancy05
Quartz | Level 8

@LinusH, @ballardw : Sorry, I am bit of slow. I am still not quite understand what you suggestion. I am new to Macro. Could you supply me with some code please?

Thanks!

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

The concept is called By Group processing, in-built into Base SAS:

http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/forum2007/222-2007.pdf

It is pretty simple.  As you have 3 datasets, first combine them, and get this dataset name (dirst step below, the : means all datasets with that prefix), sort them just to make sure and apply the where, then print them by dataset name.

data want;
  length dataset $200;
  set eltm.mlt: indsname=tmp;
  dataset=tmp;
run;

proc sort data=want;
  by dataset;
  where cr_appl_no=60048444;
run;

proc print data=want;
  by dataset;
run;

Do also note the consistent indentation, casing and such like in the code, it is very important to make code as easy to read as possible.  And you don't need macro for this, or in fact any other task you will have to do.  Macro is an additional text generation tool to save repeating code, it is not a replacement for Base SAS.

Nancy05
Quartz | Level 8

@RW9: I don't have 3 datasets, I have more than 50 datasets. How to combine more than 50 datasets. Could you show me by code please?

Thanks!

Reeza
Super User

@Nancy05 Do all your tables have the same columns and same data types?

Nancy05
Quartz | Level 8

@Reeza Yes, My libname is correct  and memname is starting with 'MLT'.

I have no problem of running this piece of code, and return the results I expected.

proc sql;
select distinct memname
from sashelp.vtable
where libname ='ELTML' 
and upper(memname) like 'MLT%';
quit;

run;

I think the problem is with Cat function and not sure how to fix it.

Reeza
Super User

STR1 is incorrect. It should generate to the following.