BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Roustabout
Calcite | Level 5

I work in the healthcare field and in my SAS code I frequently am looking at codes for different medications.  I usually create a macro variable like the following:

%let codes_ndc_lipitor = '0071015523' '0071015534' '0071015540';

Codes are stored as character variables in the SAS data sets I work with.  99% of the time I just include the above macro variable in an "IN" statement to subset out my data like this:

where (ndccode in (&codes_ndc_lipitor.));

This time I decided to get fancy and use the SAS macro language to create a format that includes the codes in the final formatting without quotes and with commas, like this:

Lipitor (0071015523,0071015534,0071015540)

So I need to create a line in Proc Format like the following:

value '0071015523','0071015534','0071015540' = 'Lipitor (0071015523,0071015534,0071015540)'

I would like to use the SAS macro language to do this because I may be looking at multiple medications and want any updates to the above drug list to change with that single macro variable that the top of my program.  I can get 99% of the way there but just cannot finish the Proc Format off.  Here is what I have so far:

%macro run_procformat();

proc format;
     value $ndc_fmt

%sysfunc(translate(&codes_ndc_lipitor.,%str(,),%str( ))) = %sysfunc(cat(%str(%'Lipitor %(),%sysfunc(translate(%sysfunc(compress(&codes_ndc_lipitor.,%str(%'))),%str(,),%str( ))),%str(%)%')))

other = "Other NDC"
;
run;

%mend run_procformat;

%run_procformat();