BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thenewlearner
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm new to SAS and was doing the practice in the SAS Base cert prep guide disc.  trying to write values to raw data file (in chapter 5) and got these errors.

1 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
62 data _null_;
63 set sasuser.stress2;
64 file 'stresdat';
65 put id 1-4 name $ 6-25 resthr 27-28 maxhr 30-32 rechr 34-36 timemin 38-39 timesec 41-42 tolerance 44;
66 run;

ERROR: Insufficient authorization to access /opt/sasinside/SASConfig/Lev1/SASApp/stresdat.
NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
NOTE: DATA statement used (Total process time):
real time 0.02 seconds
cpu time 0.01 seconds

68 proc print data=work.stresdat;
ERROR: File WORK.STRESDAT.DATA does not exist.
69 run;

NOTE: PROCEDURE PRINT used (Total process time):
real time 0.00 seconds
cpu time 0.00 seconds

72 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;

i tried to specify a folder path like it suggested in a different post, fixed the first problem, successfully wrote the file into the folder. not very sure how the virtual machine works with windows but i checked the folder in my machine, it was created the moment i ran the first part of the code. (so the file is created into the folder i specified.) but the second error still occurs. 

1 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
62 data _null_;
63 set sasuser.stress2;
64 file '/folders/myfolders/certprep/stresdat';
65 put id 1-4 name $ 6-25 resthr 27-28 maxhr 30-32 rechr 34-36 timemin 38-39 timesec 41-42 tolerance 44;
66 run;

NOTE: The file '/folders/myfolders/certprep/stresdat' is:
Filename=/folders/myfolders/certprep/stresdat,
Owner Name=root,Group Name=vboxsf,
Access Permission=-rwxrwx---,
Last Modified=02May2017:14:18:33

NOTE: 21 records were written to the file '/folders/myfolders/certprep/stresdat'.
The minimum record length was 44.
The maximum record length was 44.