BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kmardinian
Quartz | Level 8

proc sort data= G out=G1;
by ID;
run;
proc sort data= P out=P1;
by ID;
run;
Proc sort data=T out=T1;
by ID;
Run;

Data CombinedData;
Merge G1 P1;
By ID;
Run;

Data MCC1;
Set CombinedData (keep= Name ID protocol);
If missing(protocol) then delete;
run;

Data T1;

IDchar = put(ID, $8.);
drop ID;
rename IDchar=ID;
Run;

Data BT;
Merge T1 MCC1;
By ID Name;
If inT1 and inMCC1;
Run;

Here is my code above, I've been getting this error for the ID variable where SAS states that it is not defined as character or numeric, so I added in a part of the code above to try to transform the ID variable (IDchar = put(ID, $8.);
drop ID; rename IDchar=ID;). But now my Data BT just shows up blank and no observations are printed or read through SAS. Any help is much appreciated, I am still pretty new to SAS. Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

@kmardinian wrote:

What's strange is the ID in both excel sheets are in the exact same format. The cells are formatted as "General" and the ID numbers are all 8 numbers long. So I'm not sure why SAS is reading them as different?

PROC IMPORT doesn't do a great job at reading data from Excel. If you can, consider using a text file, csv, instead. Then you can specify the types. Excel doesn't enforce types so it's not a good medium for storing and transferring data. 

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Reeza
Super User

Verify that your INPUT() conversion worked correctly. I suspect it didn't.

kmardinian
Quartz | Level 8

I used proc import to import the excel datasets and they seem to have imported correctly.

Reeza
Super User

Data BT;
Merge T1 MCC1;
By ID Name;
If inT1 and inMCC1; *<- this line is incorrect, you have no variables created with these names;
Run;

kmardinian
Quartz | Level 8