BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
S420L
Calcite | Level 5
I've used call symputx to create a list of macro variables Item 1 to Item N and now I want to transfer them to an array in another datastep so that spot 1 in the array gets Item1, spot 2 gets Item2, etc.

do j=1 to &num_OR;
    rulesUsed{j}=&&Item&j;
    end;
I read that the double ampersand syntax is the way to reference macro variables like this but I keep getting all sorts of errors. I'm sure there's a simple way around this but I'm new to SAS and no document I've read through that's come up in searches mentions this exact type of problem.

13 REPLIES 13
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Can you please post the log that indicates those errors and your full code, sample data etc

S420L
Calcite | Level 5
DATA _Null_;
do I = 1 to &num_or;
set CondensedOverrides4 nobs = num_or;
call symputx("Item" !! left(put(I,8.))
,"Rule", "G");
end;
run;

This is how I used call symputx to make a list of macro variables "Item1" through "Item&num_or"
S420L
Calcite | Level 5

The first line in this error shows me making an array of size &num_or which is what I'm trying to assign the macro variable list to.

3580 do j=1 to &num_OR;
3581 rulesUsed{j}=&&Item&j;
WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference J not resolved.
NOTE: Line generated by the macro variable "J".
1 &Item&
-
WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference ITEM not resolved.
WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference J not resolved.
ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: a name, a quoted string,
a numeric constant, a datetime constant, a missing value, INPUT, PUT.

3582 end;

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

classic problem of timing of maco execution vs datastep execution

S420L
Calcite | Level 5
I know they execute at different times but I am confused why this doesn't work since I have tried assigning &Item1 to spot 1 in the array and it works fine
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

please post the full array code, let me try to adjust that to make it work plz

S420L