BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Fiery
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS, I came cross this question online, I see 2 DO loop statements here, but there is only one "End" statement. Shouldn't it include 2 "End" statements, one for each DO loop? Thanks!

Capture.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I think they are asking for the output IF the program was correctly written. In that case, the correct answer is C because the last observation is written.  If you want all observations, put an OUTPUT statement inside the innermost loop.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

You are correct. The program will give a syntax error unless it has two END statements.

Fiery
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Rick, thanks for your reply. In this case, there should be no observation be written. right?  I would choose D as the answer.  But the system says the correct answer is C.

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I think they are asking for the output IF the program was correctly written. In that case, the correct answer is C because the last observation is written.  If you want all observations, put an OUTPUT statement inside the innermost loop.

Fiery
Obsidian | Level 7

Rick, I agree with you. I think this question is to check if you know 'OUTPUT' statement. without the OUTPUT statement, it will only show the last observation.  However, for curiosity I tried to write this program in SAS, Log shows an Error and a Warning as I expected.  

If this is a real exam, I will be confused, what is it trying to test us: OUTPUT statement or End statement.  I am having an exam next week, wish myself goodluck. 🙂 

Capture.JPG

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ