BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
FP12
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I have a directory &dir, with several files in txt in it. Some files begin by "FILE_" others don't.
The files beginning by "FILE_" have the same format, "hopefully"
A $6
B $12

I just need to create a table Z, as an append of all files beginning by "FILE_" whatever is the number of files in the directory dir.

I am a bit lost on how to do that.
Can someone help me on 'easy' problem (I am a SAS almost beginner)?

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
mkeintz
PROC Star

You could use sas functions to open a directory and get a list of file names in that directory, but this problem is also amenable to using an operating system command to trivially list the desired files names.  That list can be put in an %include file, as in:

filename mypipe pipe "dir/b c:\temp\FILE_*.txt";
filename tmp  temp ;

data _null_;
  infile mypipe truncover end=eod;
  input filnam $50.;
  filnam=cats('c:\temp\',filnam);

file tmp;
  if _n_=1 then put 'infile "(' @;
  else          put ',' @ ;
  put filnam @;
  if eod then put ')";';
run;

options source2;
data want;
  %include tmp ;
  *input x y;
  input (a b) ($6. $12.);
run;

Notes:

1. This program assumes a windows environment (hence the use of the "dir/b" command -- i.e. a "bare" directory list of all txt files that have names beginning with "FILE_".
  2. That dir command is embedded within a filename statement of type "pipe" - i.e. pipe the output of the dir command when the filename reference MYPIPE is used.
  3. The "filename tmp temp" established a temporary external file - i.e. it will be deleted when the sas session is finished.  You don't need to know where the file is located.  You're just going to write stuff to it, and read it back when needed during the session.
  4. The first data step reads in the piped list of file names, prepends the directory name and writes an INFILE statement with a comma-separated list of full names to TMP.  The result will look like this: