BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
brutal3239
Calcite | Level 5

Hello there,

I'm a newbie with SAS archiving of data. I would like to know how can I delete older datas w/o affecting indexes and account/party keys.

I need to delete data w/ year 2010 and below. The account/party resets to 0,1,2,3,4 so on so forth where in it should start to different count. I hope I make sense. 

Regards,

kenjots

13 REPLIES 13
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
Not really.
Try to exemplify with a sample.
Data never sleeps
brutal3239
Calcite | Level 5
Let say I have this kind of data. Take note that account party is auto increment.

ACCOUNT_PARTY NAME DATE
1 ALPHA 2017
2 BETA 2016
3 CHARLIE 2018
4 DELTA 2015
5 FOXTROT 2016

I would like to select all data where year > 2016. So that output should be like this

ACCOUNT_PARTY NAME DATE
1 ALPHA 2017
3 CHARLIE 2018

However, upon opening the temporary dataset in work library, the output is like this.

ACCOUNT_PARTY NAME DATE
1 ALPHA 2017
2 CHARLIE 2018

The account party resets to normal count.
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

There is no auto increment field in SAS.

So you are probably using Oracle data or similar.

If you don't want to value to change, you have to turn off in auto-increment.

You can't ask for the field to be populated automatically and for the field not to change.

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@brutal3239

That's certainly not a SAS table unless you're telling us only a very scalled down and distorted part of the story. If you're interfacing with a database then what's the database?

If it's Oracle then there would be options to implement an autoincrement field which generates a key for you which doesn't change (i.e. using a sequencer object in an insert trigger; the newer versions of Oracle also have a specific new field type for such a requirement).

...but as @ChrisNZ already hints: That's something you need to solve on the database side.

brutal3239
Calcite | Level 5