BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
scouttier
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am very, very new to SAS. I have a dataset with about 300 variables with either a 1 or a 0 if that person does or does not meet those qualifcations.

So something like

PersonVar1Var2Var3Var4

should be

PersonVar1Var3Var4

Let me know if you have any ideas!! I am very new to SAS so have no idea where to even begin, but this is needed for my work : )

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Run a proc summary, transpose the result, and create a drop statement dynamically from that:

data have;
input person $ var1 var2 var3;
datalines;
52 1 0 1 0
32 1 0 1 0
100 0 0 1 0
80 1 0 1 1
;
run;

proc summary data=have;
var _numeric_;
output out=check (drop=_type_ _freq_) sum=;
run;

proc transpose data=check out=check2;
var _all_;
run;

data _null_;
set check2 end=eof;
if _n_ = 1 then call execute('data want; set have; drop');
if col1 = 0 then call execute(' ' !! trim(_name_));
if eof then call execute('; run;');
run;

Note that I posted example data in a data step with datalines; this makes it easy for everyone to recreate the exact same dataset with just copy/paste and submit.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Here's my solution.

Do nothing to var2.

In any code you write, do not mention or use var2.

--
Paige Miller
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Run a proc summary, transpose the result, and create a drop statement dynamically from that:

data have;
input person $ var1 var2 var3;
datalines;
52 1 0 1 0
32 1 0 1 0
100 0 0 1 0
80 1 0 1 1
;
run;

proc summary data=have;
var _numeric_;
run;

var _all_;
run;

data _null_;
set check2 end=eof;
if _n_ = 1 then call execute('data want; set have; drop');
run;