BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

I have a list of 447 students, each of these students have classes that they have taken over the last 4  years.  I am interested in somehow joining all of them to find groups of classes that they have all taken.  I'm not that familiar with hash and I'm new to array.  What I'm thinking is a do loop, from 1 to 447.  I'd like to join 1 to 1 - 447, then 2 to 1 - 447 and so on.  

I have a two variable dataset, student_name and course_name, I've added student_num (1-447).  

The output would be sorted in descending order by how many similar classes there are alike between students.  If I get through the first iteration I'll most likely do it again and again. I'm doing this in WEKA software for an Applied Stats class, but I thought I'd take the opportunity to learn something in SAS as well.

Cheers,

Mark 

7 REPLIES 7
jklaverstijn
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

In essence you are looking for a Cartesian product of a table with itself. This can be done using SQL. An query joining two tables without a WHERE or ON clause will combine every row of the left table with every row of the right one. Usually this happens by mistake (and SAS warns you) but here it's what you want.

proc sql;
   select * from A, A;
quit;

You can add an ORDER BY to do the sorting.

Hope this helps,
- Jan.

Astounding
PROC Star

It would be helpful to have more information about the classes.

How many are there?  With only 10 classes, you can construct as many as 1,000 possible groups.

Are you going to try to roll up the groups?  For example, if one student took classes A, B, C, and D, but anothe student took classes A, B, C, and E, will you try to count both of them under the group ABC?

Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11