BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ashfaq_BOA
Calcite | Level 5

Hi folks,  i am trying to generate a data file by running a proc sql step having a select query from database table.

i am selecting many columns in the multi-table select.

and set options as "options nonumber nocenter nolabel nodate pagesize=MAX linesize=MAX;"

However the data in each row is getting truncated to 256 chars  in the listing file that is generated ( while my data is way beyond 400 chars per selected row)

Please could someone help what other options i may have to achieve my requirement to dump data from database tables to a .txt file (to be sent to other downstream application).

Please provide a pseudo code if possible.  ( i just started studying and coding sas macro and have no formal training with this tech)

Best Regards

7 REPLIES 7
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

The default linesize off all IO in Windows/Unix is that length of 255.

At the options statement it is just defning the old classic dms approach off the output file (output window / log window / editor window).

Defining an interface file in the old historical way of defining an file lays-out by yourself will need some programming as:

- using the datastep

- dinfing the needed technical attributes along with the file statement (filename) 

- using put statements

As being very tedious and needing those skills all those interface connectors has been introduced as.

- using SQL with SAS/ACCESS to exterenal dbms

- XML file formatting (many subtypes)

- proc import/export wiht file pc file formats

- Encoding standards like codepages Unicode

All is related and dependant to the used environments and versions. Possible having some additional restrictions

You are possible feeling with this you have given to little information to give a good answer.  

---->-- ja karman --<-----
Ashfaq_BOA
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you Jaap with your swift response.