BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
a2veeram
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am fairly new to SAS community. I am trying to prepare my data for further analysis. In this preparation I need to rearrange the table..

I have a table with a few entries for each respondent. I would like to see 1 respondent in each row..

Each respondent consumed certain foods and I need these foods to become columns so that I can just see how much of each they consumed.

My current table look something like:

Resp1    Dairy products       5g

Resp1    Wheat products     15g

Resp1    Meat                     333g

Resp1    Soy products         21g

Resp1    Fish                      52g

Resp2    Dairy products       17g

Resp2    Meat                     21g

Resp2    Green vegetables   64g

Resp2    Citrus fruit             27g

Resp2    Fish                      34g

I would like it to be like this:

Resp \ Food in gr       Dairy     Wheat     Meat     Soy     Fish     Green veg     Citrus    

Resp1                         5            15         333       21       52            0               0

Resp2                         17            0          21          0       34          64               27

Is it at all possible in SAS..?

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions, links, ideas..!

Thank you very much in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
9 REPLIES 9
a2veeram
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you so much, Reeza, for such a prompt response!

I will go ahead and try your suggestions.

THANKS!

a2veeram
Calcite | Level 5

I ran into some issues.. Syntax error.. I think I am making a mistake with the variables that contain an underscore.. But I could not get it to work..

I used:

PROC SORT DATA=long OUT=longsorted ;
  BY id ;
RUN ;

DATA transposed;
  SET longsorted ;
  BY id ;

KEEP id FD_consumed1-FD_consumed10;
  RETAIN  FD_consumed1-FD_consumed10;