BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
smw10
Fluorite | Level 6

I hope you are all having a good day. I am currently studying for my Base SAS certification and I have 2 questions in regards to the input statement in SAS. First off, here is my raw data:

RANCH,1250,2

SPLIT,1190,1

CONDO,1400,2

TWOSTORY,1810,4

RANCH,1500,3

SPLIT,1615,4

SPLIT,1305,3

Here is my code:

data work.condo_ranch;

infile file1 dsd;

input style $ @;

if style="CONDO" or style="RANCH" then

input sqfeet bedrooms;

run;

My questions:

1. Can someone explain the @ sign and why it is used here?

2. Why does my dataset contain all 7 observations rather than the 2 RANCH observations and 1 CONDO observation?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

If you look at the output set you will see that the styles other than RANCH or CONDO are missing the sqfeet and bedrooms because they were not read.

The @ holds the input pointer at end of the STYLE variable (in effect pointing at the comma) in the input vector until released or moved. When the style matches then it CONTINUES reading from the position on the SAME input line. The second input, when execute releases the hold as it does not have a @ or @@ at the end. Also reaching the bottom of the data step in effect releases the hold.