BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcrum1
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! I’m still learning SAS so hopefully my question is coming out clearly.  I’m trying to automatically update the libname and/or automatically create sub folders for a program if the same program is ran multiple times during the same month. I tried to make the libname a macro variable, but it gives me an error. 

This is what I have so far.

options dlcreatedir;

LIBNAME Run1 ( "C:\Users\person1\Documents\201405\run1"  

"C:\Users\person1\Documents\&YR_MNTH\run2"

"C:\Users\person1\Documents\&YR_MNTH\run3");

libname Run1 clear;

This is what I would like it to create automatically or something along the lines. I’m just not sure how to get there without the errors.

Day 1 (first time I run the program):

LIBNAME  Run1: "C:\Users\person1\Documents\&YR_MNTH\run1"   ;

Day 2 (second time I run the program):

LIBNAME  Run2: "C:\Users\person1\Documents\&YR_MNTH\run2"   ;

Day 2 (third time I run the program):

LIBNAME  Run3: "C:\Users\person1\Documents\&YR_MNTH\run3"   ;

If anyone has any advice please let me know. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ksharp
Super User

Astounding,

I don't think that could work. use DCREATE () instead .

%let n=%sysfunc(translate(%sysfunc(datetime(),datetime.),_,:));
data _null_;
 rc=dcreate("run&n",'c:\temp\');
run;

libname x v9 "c:\temp\run&n";

Xia Keshan

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ballardw
Super User

If the directories do not exist before the libname statement is run then you will get an error. Libname doesn't create a folder/directory.

Look at the documentation for DCREATE for on possible way to create folders.

data_null__
Jade | Level 19

With LIBNAME and DLCREATEDIR you can only create one new sub-level at a time.  So create &YR_MNTH first then run1 run2.

Ksharp
Super User