BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
buffalol
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am new to SAS, and am struggling with a particular question and would just like to be pointed in the right direction.

I have a dataset of multiple product listings and their costs per year. So for example:

Product 1 1999 $566

Product 1 2000 $500

Product 2 1998 $700

Product 2 2000 $400

Product 3 1998 $300

I want to be able to print a list of all the products that don't have a price for the year 1998 and 1999. So since the data doesn't exist in the dataset, it needs to be created without manually adding in the data. The result needs to look something like this:

1998 Product 1

1999 Product 2, Product 3

Hopefully this makes sense. I would appreciate any and all feedback! I'm not even sure how to begin with listing data or referencing rows that essentially don't exist. Keep in mind, this is a small example and that the dataset I'm working on has 100s of rows.

Thanks. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

If you know that each year and product is recorded at least once in the data set somewhere you can use the SPARSE option in PROC FREQ. 

Here's an example with PROC FREQ.

proc freq data=sashelp.class noprint;
table sex*age /out = want (where=(count=0)) sparse nopercent;
run;

proc print data=want;
run;

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You can create a data set with all possible combinations of product and year.

Then, you can use either PROC SQL or a data step merge to identify which rows of the all possible combinations data set do not match a row in your actual data set.

--
Paige Miller
Reeza
Super User

What years are you interested in? What products?

Either way, search PRELOADFMT that shows a way to get all possible combinations and building the table you want. This is a pretty common question on here. 

Reeza