BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
grande44
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all! I have just started a new job and have been teaching myself to use SAS. Progress is slow since I have very little experience with programming languages. I would be incredibly appreciative of any help with this problem!

I have a large raw macro data set. Based on this raw data, a former co-worker used SAS to make an Excel spreadsheet. In the spreadsheet, there are 3 columns: Group, Subgroup, and the Number of Observations of Subgroup (i.e. the number of times the subgroup was observed in the data). Specifically, the Groups are things like “Administrative Services”, and the Subgroups include specific jobs like “Receptionists”, “Assistants”, and “Managers”. Below I have made an example of what the table looks like. In reality, there aren’t just 2 Groups, there are hundreds!

I have imported the Excel data into SAS. My question is: How can I make the “Share of Group” column in SAS?

Group

Subgroup

Number of Observations

Share of Group

Administrative Services

Receptionists

41.6%

Assistants

33.3%

Managers

25%

Computer Science

Data Analysts

71.4%

IT Support

28.5%

What I would like to do is the following: For each Subgroup, calculate its percentage share of the entire group based on the Number of Observations. For example, I would like to be able to calculate a new variable that will show that Receptionists were 41.6% of all observed Administrative Services employees, Assistants were 33.3%, etc.

Since I have a large number of Groups, I am guessing that the best way to do this for each Group is to make a macro, but I’m not sure what to tell SAS to do in the macro.

Thank you so much for reading this! I really appreciate any help or tips I can get.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11