BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mmccarver
Calcite | Level 5

I am working with a 3rd party vendor who is requesting data sets in a SAS .XPT file. I am a web developer using C# and I have no experience with SAS. 

Is it possible to create a .XPT file from scratch using a text writer?

10 REPLIES 10
ballardw
Super User

I would assume that you have access to SAS in some form. Use of Proc Cport would be every so much easier.

You can either export all of the data sets in a library in to a single file

proc cport data=sashelp.class file='c:\folder\class.xpt';

run;

would create a transport file for the data set sashelp.class.

You can export all of the datasets in a library also

proc cport library=libname file='c:\folder\library.xpt' memtype=data;

run;

mmccarver
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for responding. 

I have no access to SAS. To be honest, this is the first time I've ever had to work with it. Typically, clients ask for CSV files as a method of data transferring but they are asking for .XPT files. 

Could I even create a .XPT file without SAS? 

data_null__
Jade | Level 19

@mmccarver wrote:

Thank you for responding. 

I have no access to SAS. To be honest, this is the first time I've ever had to work with it. Typically, clients ask for CSV files as a method of data transferring but they are asking for .XPT files. 

Could I even create a .XPT file without SAS? 

Yes you can create a file using a language other than SAS, that can be read by SAS with the SAS XPORT engine.  I believe this link will get you headed in the right direction.

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/movefile/69975/HTML/default/viewer.htm#p0ld1i106e1xm7n16...

If you don't have SAS I'm not sure how you can test it, perhaps post it here and someone can try to read it for you.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

SAS V5 transport file format is open source.  For instance this doc might help:

https://support.sas.com/techsup/technote/ts140.pdf