BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
edomachowske
Calcite | Level 5

Hello!

I am new to programming and need to create new "group" variables based on ages. I am doing this because I will eventually need to run an ANOVA test comparing three age groups against each other. I have tried to create new variables from the one variable of age but havent had any luck.

I used proc import for my data from an excel file, although I am not entirely sure this is right, it has worked so far:

PROC IMPORT OUT= SASUSER.RSV
DATAFILE= "H:\windows\IP\RSV\rsv.xls"
DBMS=EXCELCS REPLACE;
RANGE="Sheet1$";
SCANTEXT=YES;
USEDATE=YES;
SCANTIME=YES;

RUN;

So I need three age groups (0-3, 4-6, 7-12 months) from one variable currently titled AGE

I have already used proc format for a frequency table but will need something more permanent ( I think)

proc format;
value age_fmt
0-3='0-3 Months' 4-6='4-6 Months' 7-12='7-12 Months';
value GA_fmt
24-36='Preterm'37-42='Term';
run;

Please help 😞 Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

There is nothing wrong with what you are attempting. However placing your data in the SASUSER library is not a best practice. Your SASUSER can be completely replaced by a SAS upgrade an your data sets are not going to survive. Better would be to create your own permanent library. Then place the data there, put your custom formats there and that that library to the format search path.

Adding the code for the library assignment and the search path to an AUTOEXEC.SAS file called when SAS starts is one way to have things persist. These two lines could be in the autoexec.sas to assign everytime sas starts and adds that library to the

Libname mylib "C:\path\libfolder";  /* use your peferred library name, helpful if it means something 8 character limit*/
options append=(fmtsearch= mylib);