BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ashdrews19
Calcite | Level 5

Hello there, 

I am new to SAS and am having difficulties completing an easy macro. I know how to run it in Stata (with the for var statement) but I seem to struggle trying to translate it to SAS. 

I am working on a project where we have 50 datasets from all 50 states. We are given SAS files that automatically clean and compilate the flat-files for each state. So, I am trying to run a macro that cycles through all 50 states and opens up the SAS file associated with that state, runs it, and gives us a final dataset for that state. 

I managed to create a working macro that allows me to call the other datasets: 

%Macro statecycle(abbr);
%include "C:\Users\ashland.PMACS\Desktop\Testing\&abbr.\SAS_test&abbr..sas" ;
%Mend statecycle;

However, I am really struggling figuring out how to run a macro list that changes abbr to the a state. I tried everything from a let statement to importing a dataset with only the state abbreviations and trying to run an entire variable.Everything I've tried doesn't work, or maybe I'm on the right track I just have no idea what the codes are. 

I know that in stata there is a "for var " statement where I can give it a list of names and associate that list with a letter (e.g. `x') and whenever I call on `x' in my code it cycles through all the names I gave it. I feel like there is a simple solution for SAS, I just haven't been able to figure it out. 

I am thankful for any help or advice. 

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

I think you're looking for a format to apply it to map the state abbrev to state.

Also, you may want to take a look into call execute for automating procedures from a data driven table.

Astounding
PROC Star

This won't give you all the answers, but it will help you start thinking in the right direction:

http://blogs.sas.com/content/publishing/2015/01/30/sas-authors-tip-getting-the-macro-language-to-per...

Reeza
Super User

Here's an example

data state_fmt;