BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ArseneWenger
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am new to the hash code and I have a data step that I want to convert to hash code to decrease run time ( i have millions of rows). I would appreciate any help to covert same code to hash code.

Here is the logic of my datastep:  I am creating a new variable "tag" which can 1 or 0. If it is my first.ID and value of status is not 8 then 0 else 1 until it hits 1 again. So basically I am retaining the tag value until I hit any other value other than 8.

Example:

data try;
input id status;
datalines;
1 8
1 . 
1 1
1 .
2 8
2 .
2 .
2 .
3 1
3 .
3 8
3 .
4 .
4 .
4 .
5 .
5 .
5 8
5 .
;
run;

data try1 ;
set try;
by id;
retain tag 0;
if first.id then
tag=0;
if status=8 then
tag=1;
if status=1 then
tag=0;
run;

Output:

id status tag
1 8 1
1 . 1
1 1 0
1 . 0
2 8 1
2 . 1
2 . 1
2 . 1
3 1 0
3 . 0
3 8 1
3 . 1
4 . 0
4 . 0
4 . 0
5 . 0
5 . 0
5 8 1
5 . 1

13 REPLIES 13
Astounding
PROC Star

Your existing program is fine.  How could hashing speed this up in any way?

ArseneWenger
Fluorite | Level 6
As I mentioned that I would several millions of rows and its taking forever.
Reeza
Super User

What's your definition of forever?

I don't think there's anyway to simplify this process so you're best off trying to figure out where/why it's being slow first. 

A few million rows should be processed pretty quickly unless you have memory or space restrictions.

ArseneWenger
Fluorite | Level 6

Regardless of time constraint can anyone help me understand how can the same code be converted to hash code for knowledge purpose? I would really appreciate that.

I am not lying when I said it's very very slow (several hours) and I feel I want to test if using hash code improves timing.

Thanks in advance for your help and understanding.

Reeza
Super User