BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jan_Schebeko
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

i'm a novice on SAS Formats.

I want to copy a format to a backup one.

something like formata = formatb;

I didnt find it on google. Only one i found was to copy inside a catalog. But i didn't know the catalog name of the format.

Is there any easy way? please help.

Thx Jan

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I'm not really sure I understand the concept of copying a format to a backup.

But if I do understand this, here is the method I use

I create permanent formats, and then store them on a drive that is automatically backed up.

So, for example

libname fmtlib "\\myserver\mydrive\myfolder";
proc format library=fmtlib;
value yn 0='No' 1='Yes';
run;

Then the commands

libname fmtlib "\\myserver\mydrive\myfolder";
options fmtsearch=(fmtlib);

allows the formats in fmtlib (all of them if there are more than one, not just the one format I named YN) to be available to be used in your SAS program.

--
Paige Miller
ballardw
Super User

I've never had a need to do this but if you are using base SAS and don't need to do this for a lot of formats you can open the format catalog in the library of interes using the SAS explorer window and copy/paste.

Since there isn't much a way to edit a format within a catalog I almost have to believe that you are "experimenting" with creating a variation on the existing format. In which case you might be better off to make sure you have the source code saved somewhere safe to recreate the format as needed.

Or put the new formata into a different library and have that library appear first in the FMTSEARCH path.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@ballardw wrote:

I've never had a need to do this but if you are using base SAS and don't need to do this for a lot of formats you can open the format catalog in the library of interes using the SAS explorer window and copy/paste.