BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
tstjean
Calcite | Level 5

I am getting the max of a DateTime column from a SQL Server table and want to compare it to a Date from a SAS data set.

How do I change a SQL DateTime to a SAS date.

Here is part of the code. Be kind. I'm new to SAS.

%global Recent_Load;

proc sql noprint;

select max(Trans_Date) into :Recent_Load

from tbl_All_Trans;

quit;

When I do a put of &Recent_Load, I get 31OCT2015:00:00:00:000

How do I convert this to a SAS Date with no time part.

Terry

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DartRodrigo
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi mate,

You can use both, datepart() function or apply a format of date9.:

%global Recent_Load;
proc sql noprint;
select max(datepart(Trans_Date)) as max_date format=date9. into :Recent_Load
from tbl_All_Trans;
quit;

SAS Date, Time, and Datetime Values

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User
DATEPART() function
DartRodrigo
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi mate,

You can use both, datepart() function or apply a format of date9.:

%global Recent_Load;
proc sql noprint;
select max(datepart(Trans_Date)) as max_date format=date9. into :Recent_Load
from tbl_All_Trans;
quit;

SAS Date, Time, and Datetime Values

Hope this helps

tstjean
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for all the suggestions.

FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Please note that the DATEPART function, that has been suggested, requires a SAS datetime value as its argument, i.e. a numeric value in seconds from 1st Jan 1960 00:00:00. Other database systems may very well use different base dates, e.g. 1st Jan 1900, but I'm not familiar with "SQL Server".