BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ris124
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am new to SAS. I need to pass two numeric values from excel cells to a SAS macro. But I have no idea, how to start. Right now, I am a lost ship in an ocean. Can anyone please help.

6 REPLIES 6
ankit___gupta
Quartz | Level 8

I have written the code to import the data from excel into the WORK libraray. Then looping trough each observation , i'm calling from the required macro. Thus passing values from excel cells to a SAS macro.

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.EXCELTABLE DATAFILE= "C:\file.xlsx" 
     DBMS=xlsx REPLACE;
     SHEET="auto"; 
     GETNAMES=YES;
RUN;

data want;
   set EXCELTABLE;
   array COL1 COL2 COL3 ;
		do over COL1;
			%<macro name>(COL1, COL2, COL3);
		end;
   drop COL1;
run;

-Hope it helps.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Looks like the typical misunderstanding of the macro processor. The macro is executed while the data step is being compiled, so it never has access to the values of datastep variables, only to their names as supplied as macro parameters.

To verify this, post the macro code.

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

@ankit___gupta you missd a step in your answer: 

where is the macro definition and execution (doesn't matter what name you gave to it).

The proc import itself doesn't create macro variables.

the missed step, in between the import and the step to use is should be like:

data _NULL_;

set have; /* dataset created by import */

call symput('macro_var1', col1) ;  /* when col1 is char */

call symput(macro_var2', left(col2)); /* when col2 is numeric */

run;

then to use the macro variables:

data x;

col1 = symget('macro_var1'); 

put col1=;

/* or */

col2 = &macro_var2; 

put col2=;

/* both metthods are good either fo char or for numeric variables */

run;

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@Ris124 wrote:

Hi, I am new to SAS. I need to pass two numeric values from excel cells to a SAS macro. But I have no idea, how to start. Right now, I am a lost ship in an ocean. Can anyone please help.