BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Amber_Nicole94
Obsidian | Level 7

I have access to SAS EG here at work. Currently, I have data download from a third party database (BOBJ) into multiple excel sheets which I then inport into SAS. However, in order to bypass the excel step I am attempting to connect straight to the oracle database in SAS.

I am brand new to oracle so am stuck when in comes to coding the connection. The following is some of the information I have.

libname = CVS

oracle user = my user name

password = my password

path = edmp

schema = cvs_own

Oracle tables are called:

IDWE_D_CALENDAR

IDWE_OWN.BUSINESS_TYPE

IDWE_OWN.ACCOUNT_NAME

ETC....

Hoping smeone can assist in writing the code to bring in data with the same affect as importing an excel sheet. As specific as you can be would be appreciated as I am fairly new to the oracle piece!!

11 REPLIES 11
Reeza
Super User

Is EG installed locally? Or on a server? If it's a server, your IT area will need to do this for you.

If it's locally, first set up the server in your computers ODBC setup, via the control panel. 

Then use something like the following:

libname myDB dsn=myName schema=dbo;

You can see a variation of these instructions in detail here:

https://support.sas.com/techsup/technote/ts765.pdf

Amber_Nicole94
Obsidian | Level 7

Yes, it is installed on a server. Using your resource I was stopped at the "administrative tools" step because i dont have those privledges.

Reeza
Super User

@Amber_Nicole94 Someone who has admin privileges on the server will need to set it up then.

kiranv_
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

As suggested by @Reeza you need to first do first define libname for Oracle database. For example

libname mydblib oracle user=testuser password=testpass path=hrdept_002;

example was copied from

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/acreldb/63647/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a003113591.htm

and then

data work.tablenameasyouwant ; /*or any sas libname you want to store data*/