BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Curly
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone,

I'm still pretty new to sas.

Here is the situation.

I have a table (Merged1) that has IDnumbers some descriptions and 2 dates, an event date and a consent date. both of the dates are in the format MMDDYY10 and each row has all these variables.

I want to get a data set where the consent date is before the event date. So if an even happened before the consent it will not be in my new data set. I have something like this...

data Sample1;

set merged_data;

where event_date > consent_date;

run;

I know that dates are just numbers counting from a certain date, so I would imagine this would work, but that is not the case.

please and thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

If your two dates are just character strings that look like dates, just change your code to:

data Sample1;
    set merged_data;
    if input(event_date,mmddyy10.) > input(consent_date,mmddyy10.);
run;

HTH,

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Make sure (proc contents) that the date variables are numeric with a MMDDYY10. assigned.

If that is the case, post some examples that illustrate your issues in a data step with datalines.

Reeza
Super User

@Curly wrote:

Hi everyone,

I would imagine this would work, but that is not the case.

please and thank you

What does that mean? How did it not work?

art297
Opal | Level 21

If your two dates are just character strings that look like dates, just change your code to:

data Sample1;
    set merged_data;
    if input(event_date,mmddyy10.) > input(consent_date,mmddyy10.);
run;

HTH,

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

ballardw
Super User

Example data.