BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
anureddy10
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello Guys, 

I need your help. I am new to SAS and I got a project regarding Data cleaning . My project is to check the spellings and update the unique name of all the employers of almost 75000 new hires and enter the new unique new employer data into new column(Variable in SAS) , I am right now using If else , but I need to write almost 100 If then statements. 

Example -

If Employer = 'Apple' OR Employer = 'Apple Inc' --- then 'Apple' 

else Employer

as New Employer

For this the employer distinct names are almost 25000 rows . So have no idea how many days this project might take to complete . Any ideas what will be the estimated timeline to inform to my Manager?Is there a easy method to clean the data in SAS? 

SAS Pro's please help me 

12 REPLIES 12
SASKiwi
PROC Star

SAS has a product just for this:

http://www.sas.com/content/dam/SAS/en_us/doc/factsheet/sas-data-quality-101422.pdf

If you don't already have SAS Data Quality / Dataflux then this would be difficult to justify for the one task you have.

Of course you can also build your own cleaning processes as well in Base SAS as you are doing. And you could use lookup techniques and a lookup table to hold the employer distinct names. It would be reasonably easy to use this lookup table to validate your new hires' employers. A lot depends on how messy your employer data is to begin with.  

anureddy10
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for the help. 

My data is really very messy. Have all three/two employers in a single record. Not exactly sure which Employer I have to consider. I tried using distinct to sort out the unique employers but that gave  half of the total rows (almost 35000 rows). I thought it might take more of excel work than SAS. 

PGStats
Opal | Level 21