BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Can someone please help me understand this macro step by step? I'm very new to sas so i'm having a hard time understanding macros.

This is the macro:

%macro handimp;

%let var1 = Intake;
%let var2 = Discharge;

%do k=1 %to 2;

proc import out= hand_&&var&k.._paper datafile= "&fpath\Hand_Wrist.xlsx"
dbms=xlsx replace;
getnames=yes;
sheet = "&&var&k";
run;

proc sort data = hand_&&var&k.._paper;
by client_id;
run;
%end;
%mend;

%handimp;

Questions

1. Why is this macro creating two macro variables called var1 and var2? Is this necessary? Is this meant to highlight the two sheets in my excel that I want to import? 

2. What does the following line mean exactly:

%do k=1 %to 2;

thank you! If you answer can you please answer simply as I don't always understand all the terminilogy just yet!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

It's a do loop...the start from - up to - end value. 

Loop from 1 to 2 in this case. 

It could easily be 1 to 20 if you wanted 20 loops.

And no, not observation are not being looped. This loops the entire procedure or portion of text. 

Write the out the entire piece of code and replace each instance of k with a 1. 

Then write out entire piece of code and replace each instance of k with a 2. 

That will show you what the code is doing. 

If running the code you can use the following to have the log display the details from each iteration. 

Option MPRINT SYMBOLGEN;

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Astounding
PROC Star

There's too much to explain.  You will need to study SAS language first, then macro language, to come up to speed on these questions.