BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Tomcaty
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello all, 

I am a SAS beginner, so please ignore if I made any mistakes in the code. Until now I was using excel to calculate the number of persons and person time of follow up. Now, I build a code in SAS that would give me the same output by just specifying few parameters in the macro. I need help to simplify the program and allow extended periods of follow up time. Below is what I have done: 

%macro test (y1, y2,y3,rate);
data want;

ny1 = &y1*(1-&rate*0.5);
pyy1 = ny1*0.5+(&y1-ny1)*0.25;

ny2 = &y2*(1-&rate*0.5)+ ny1*(1-&rate);
pyy2 = &y2*(1-&rate*0.5)*0.5+(&y2-&y2*(1-&rate*0.5))*0.25 + ny1*(1-&rate*0.5);

ny3 = &y3*(1-&rate*0.5)+ ny2*(1-&rate);
pyy3 = &y3*(1-&rate*0.5)*0.5+(&y3-&y3*(1-&rate*0.5))*0.25 + ny2*(1-&rate*0.5);

ny4 = ny3*(1-&rate);
pyy4 = ny3*(1-&rate*0.5);

ny5 = ny4*(1-&rate);
pyy5 = ny4*(1-&rate*0.5);
run; proc print data=want; run;
%mend test; %test (20,30,40, 0.06);

In the above program, ny1 is the number of persons and pyy1 is the number of person years contributed in the Year 1 . The logic for the first three years keeps changing. From the fourth year onward it remains the same formula. So, for 8th year the formula would be

ny8 = ny8*(1-&rate);
pyy8 = ny8*(1-&rate*0.5)

I have shared the code for the first five years. But I need for extended periods of time like say 15 years. How can I best simplify my program. Also, I need the output in the below format (Add Cumulative Person years): 

Yearny1pyy1Cumilative PY

Thank you very much for all your help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

I think what you are looking for is a DATA step, with no macro language.  I will at least try to get the concept right ... not sure about all the formulas.

data want;

input y1 y2 y3 rate;

testnum=_n_;

cumulative_py=0;

ny = y1 * (1 - rate * 0.5);